Crate Asset

To make the crate asset, I started by creating a single box and editing from there.

Using the inset and extrude tools, I created the ‘supports’ around the edges of the box, pulling the edges in and making sure to set the extrude amount to a minus number so the face was pulled in, not extruded out.

I then separately made a single box, which will soon be the cross beams. I added an extra width segment through the centre of the rectangular box and pulled the central vertices upwards a little to create a pointed edge. I did this on both ends of my cross beam. I resized the object and pulled it up close to my original box, i then rotated it 45 degrees and had to fiddle around a bit more to make the cross beam able to fit inside my inset face on the first box.

Then, to keep the poly count low (which would be important when working in the industry) I deleted the faces on the top of the cross beam and the ones on the back and slotted it back into place. To make all six cross beams, I held shift and rotated the original beam so it copied over on to the opposite side. I then copied both of them over to the remaining sides. This was this the finished single box:

Capture

I then created a small scene with my box, copying the whole box two more times and piling them up, rotating them slightly to make the scene a bit more realistic. I also added a plane underneath.

For the second image, I added a camera (ctrl + C) and an Arnold light and rendered the image, which is also the final result.

Leave a comment